lizziec: (Horrible Histories Dick Turpin (noose))
Had a random moment the other day when I was googling mum's name and came across this news story published a year and a half after she died, using a photo she took and put on flickr under creative commons as the story picture.

Bus Posse
This one.


I think that's unbelievably cool. It made me both smile, and be a little bit sad.

Thanks to those who helped me find the pic on flickr after I got sad enough that I could no longer look.

This entry was originally posted at http://lizziec.dreamwidth.org/433857.html. There are currently comment count unavailable comments on the original entry.
lizziec: (me - Lizzie-ben-wedding)
Yesterday was the sixth anniversary of my wedding to Ben. In honour of that momentous occasion, I give you a picspam of wedding pictures.

Wedding pics. Cut to save your friends page. There are a lot of pictures under here )

Ben's cousin got married yesterday, so we attended the wedding. It was at a posh hotel, so we spent a couple of nights there as an anniversary gift to ourselves. It was very pleasant, though it was really nice to come home. Sometimes I think that's the best reason to go away - so you can be grateful to come home.

The wedding yesterday - how I did my hair )

The wedding we attended yesterday was lovely. The hotel staff were amazing and very helpful, and it was nice to see Ben's family. My sister-in-law was particularly lovely. When I couldn't eat the pudding that was served at dinner cos it had almonds in it, I wasn't going to say anything but she did and got me ice cream instead :) She also made a song request towards the end of the reception - Annie's Song by John Denver, which was the song Ben and I had our first dance to at our our wedding so I got a dance with Ben after all. It was lovely, felt for me very much like time had stopped and I was floating on air. A beautiful end to a gorgeous day.
lizziec: (me - phil'sfirstchristmas)
My little brother turns 24 today :O

In honour of this day I have decided to embarrass him and spam you all with lovely pictures of him growing up.

Bwhahaha.

A cut, so you're not too badly spammed :) )

Happy birthday Phil!
lizziec: (Mummy and little lizzie)
I was watching Law and Order: UK a couple of weeks ago when I suddenly shouted out in surprise, because I recognised the location they had been shooting at. I knew they filmed in and around Sutton (and no, this story isn't nearly as cool as [livejournal.com profile] angelicalangie's - I didn't meet anyone, or even see them filming). What I didn't know was that they had also filmed only a couple of hundred yards from the house I grew up in from the time I was 7, and also only a couple of hundred yards from the flat we lived in before that.

map

This map illustrates just how close they were. Point A is my old house (where I lived till I was 21 [2005]), Point B is where they filmed.

cut for image heavy post )

I exclaimed in excitement to Phil about somewhere so close featuring and bemoaning that I wasn't around to get an autograph and got a "oh yeah, I knew they filmed there. I watched them do it!"

He didn't collect any autographs :(

Mark Does Stuff

Wednesday, August 3rd, 2011 09:34 pm
lizziec: (Trapper and Hawkeye)
I've been loving Mark Does Stuff for a long time. I've been reading his stuff ever since he read The Twilight Saga which was amazing from a watching someone disintegrate in front of your very eyes point of view. Then he did Harry Potter, which was brilliant from a he's never read this before and thinks it's fucking awesome point of view.

Then he started to watch stuff as well and of the things I watch he's done Doctor Who and Sherlock.

Seriously, if you can find time to read those reviews they're brilliant, because it's incredibly exciting to see someone discovering something you love for the first time.

And now he's started watching Battlestar Galactica which is so exciting for me to read.

Anyway, this is me recommending that you read this stuff, that you add his sites to your RSS reader and that you sit back and enjoy someone discovering Battlestar Galactica for the first time. I'm loving it.

Random graphic about Hera Agathon. Well it amused me )
lizziec: (Granny's garden bee)
This is what happens when I get overtired:




lizziec: (Tonks)
Ben and I spent part of our afternoon doing this:

Harry Potter 7 ticket

My (brief) thoughts below. Spoilers will (probably) abound, so if you don't want to risk it then don't read on...

Spoilers! )

Finally, Ben is a great husband because he noticed when I started crying and gave me a tissue :) It was even clean! ;)
lizziec: (Kirk LDS)
On Monday's DPP over at [livejournal.com profile] no_takebacks we played at making our own Texts from Galactica (these are based on Texts from Last Night. Thanks to [livejournal.com profile] pressdbtwnpages for the awesome idea :D

I went a bit crazy ;) Here are my Pilots themed Texts from Galactica: )
lizziec: (Mummy and little lizzie)
This is my big sister. Catherine Patricia Frances Overal.

Cut because the picture is of an extremely sick preemie on life support )

She was born at 25 weeks gestation - 15 weeks (nearly four months) premature in February 1982. She weighed 1lb 9.5oz and lived for less than a day, so I never knew her. Even today babies born that early have huge challenges and many still die. In 1982, despite all the care the hospital could give her, the chances were worse and she sadly died.

Because my parents weren't very well off they could never afford to get a grave marker for my big sister, and so for 29 years now it's remained unmarked. There's no visible sign that she even existed to most of the world.

Tomorrow me and my auntie are going to order the amendments to my dad's headstone to have my mum's details added and we've managed to get together the money to have my sister's grave finally marked. I called the cemetery today to double check which plot Catherine was buried in so I could give the details to the monumental mason (which btw, is an awesome job title).

It's just as well I did, because it turns out that my mum and dad (both deceased) hold the rights to my sister's grave, so we wouldn't have been able to arrange a headstone because we (surviving family) have no rights over it. It's quite frustrating.

Luckily, as Phil and I have long since sorted out probate over mum's estate transferring it should be fairly straight forward, but it's one more thing I have to do tomorrow when I'm visiting Sutton (60+ miles away). I really could have done without it.

Luckily, by the end of tomorrow a headstone for Catherine should be on order, as should the alterations to daddy's headstone.

The inscription we're going with on Catherine's will be something like
Catherine Patricia Frances Overal
03.02.1982-04.02.1982

On mum's it'll be:
Christine Anne Overal
Born: 02.04.1951
Died: 11.05.2010
Well loved

Pics when it's done, which will be apparently four or five months from ordering.

I voted

Thursday, May 5th, 2011 12:00 pm
lizziec: (Max at work)
I voted at about 7:35 this morning which felt veeeeeeeeery early. Still, it's done now and I'm feeling rather Meh about the whole thing. I voted because it's my civic duty and I believe very strongly that I should be exercising it because of all the people in the past who couldn't and campaigned for my right to do it.

my polling card

But...

I had to hold my nose and vote for the least-worst option and that left me feeling rather dirty. I shouldn't come out of the polling booth feeling dirty because I had to vote and all the choices were pretty much equally dire. Let's take these decisions one at a time.

Local council elections )

AV referendum )

ETA: This is an example of what I mean. How could one not vote against a campaign that has posters like this?
The last No to AV poster from Conservative HQ. No, really. WTF? )

Who's lying?

Monday, May 2nd, 2011 06:44 pm
lizziec: (XKCD sheeple)
So, recently we got a newsletter through from Harbledown Parish Council, stating that they had successfully lobbied to have the missing A2 slip-roads that were supposed to be being built at the Harbledown junction of the A2 cancelled. I was pretty pissed at the time because I think they're necessary to help relieve congestion throughout the city, and it's rather unfair on Wincheap and Thanington to have things like an extended Park and Ride and extra slip-roads imposed on them because the more well heeled residents of Harbledown and Rough Common think it's beneath them.

Here's the extract from the Parish Council newsletter:

Harbledown Parish Council newsletter extract

So imagine my surprise when a campaign leaflet for the local Conservative Party (candidate Brennan Dwyer) dropped onto our doormat proclaiming that the Conservatives had "Successfully lobbied for all 6 A2 slip roads..."

Brennan Dwyer Canterbury Conservative leaflet

So one of them must be lying. They can't both be right. Anyone have any idea which it is? I'd call Mr Dwyer's campaign and ask him, but his leaflet is rather lacking in contact details...



This entry was originally posted at http://lizziec.dreamwidth.org/416947.html. There are currently comments on the original entry.
lizziec: (toys - Giraffe)
We went on holiday to Norfolk this year, to this beautiful cottage called "Remus" in Larling, through this brilliant company who let holiday cottages in five locales, despite being called "Best of Suffolk" ;)

I was pretty excited about going, but didn't realise how much I really needed to get away from everything after the year we've had so far. And I really did need to get away, and feel miles better for having done so.

Day One - Friday 3rd September - Travelling and settling in )

Day Two - Saturday 4th September - Relaxing in the cottage )

Day Three - Sunday 5th September - Bure Valley Railway and Great Yarmouth )

Day Four - Monday 6th September - Banham Zoo (featuring Giraffes) )

Day Five - Tuesday 7th September - The world's most disappointing Toy and Model Expo and England's only Whisky distillery )

Day Six - Wednesday 8th September - IWM Duxford )

Day Seven - Thursday 9th September - Norwich )

Day Eight - Friday 10th September - Home again (with a stop at Bluewater en-route) )

It was really good to be away, but it was quite nice to get home again.

The fantastic news, and a good way to round off our holiday, is this was our last holiday in which I had to do all the driving, because on Monday, Ben passed his driving test first time \o/ (though this does mean I now have to share the car ;))

This entry was originally posted at http://lizziec.dreamwidth.org/414937.html. There are currently comment count unavailable comments on the original entry.

New shoes!

Saturday, July 17th, 2010 06:57 pm
lizziec: (carebare hug)
So back in 2006 when I was doing my teacher training I needed some new shoes and found some very attractive Docs:



which I loved to death. Literally. They eventually nearly fell apart, and then I got some new docs, which I have also loved nearly to death:



That pic doesn't show the condition of them currently properly, but they're starting to die now, which is sad :(

(Side note, I also have some Docs Sandals which are in their third summer now and still in excellent health, though they still bear the scars from where I scratched them when I fell down the stairs.)

I've had my eyes on a new pair of Docs for ages, since before mum got ill. These shoes (Dr Martens Candie two strap). However, in the time between first looking and when things had settled down enough for me to actually think about getting them, virtually everywhere has sold out of the shoes I was coveting. The only place I could find with my size in stock was Scorpio Shoes, so I bought them before they too were out of stock.

They were brilliant by the way - very speedy service, I got the shoes within two days.

They turned up today and are sooooooo pretty and shiny.







Sooooooooooooooooooooooooo prettyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
lizziec: (granny's garden bee)
I mentioned here that Phil and I spent hours cleaning out the spare room at mum's place so that I could have my own space here. The bed arrived on Saturday and is now all together and covered with bed clothes. I brought some things back from Canterbury this morning to make it more my own space, so I thought I would post the pictures of how it looks now (please excuse the quality, I used my phone camera).

I'm still trying to think of ways to improve the walls. Maybe I need some postcards or something to stick up?

Pictures of my little corner of mum's house. Cut to save your friends page :) )

In other news, still waiting to hear when the MRI will be. I also called mum's council this morning and they're sending forms to register for postal voting, then I called my council who are sending me forms for both a postal and a proxy vote so I can pick which one I want to use. Then I'm hopefully covered should I be here on election day.

ETA: 12/07/11 No longer filtered

Hello again.

Wednesday, February 17th, 2010 11:08 pm
lizziec: (toys - max at work)
Hello. I'm sure you all remember me. I used to update this. At risk of sounding like everyone else who has ever done this, including me in personal journals multiple times, I will try and get better at updating this and generally re-engaging with LiveJournal.

So, for the past few months I've been, you know, existing. There's not a lot to report really. I have a bunch of pictures from my holiday at home last September that I meant to document and never got around to. Assuming I continue the never getting round to it, they are here (Imperial War Museum), here (Howletts Wild Animal Park), here (Rochester Castle - terrifying experience going up [and down - I came down on my bum]) and here (Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Light Railway & Dungeness Lighthouse).

We have also bought and had delivered a new sofa, the installation of which was rather more of a saga and full of fail than it needed to be. I really hope I get around to writing that one up, because [livejournal.com profile] benc was awesome and manly ;)

I got some new woolies (here) because I shrank my old ones in the wash, and I got a shiny new mobile phone (here) which works much better than the old one.

I've also been growing my hair out. Had it trimmed last week so took a picture, and here it is:

IMG_0003

Before the trimming it was about an inch and a half longer than that and easily reached my waist.

So, yes, hello again. Hopefully my next update won't be so tardy. In fact, I know it won't, because I already have something prepared...
lizziec: (Frazer-doomed)
This post has been brought on by two things. First, it's the Euro and County Council elections (at least for us in Kent) tomorrow (possibly today, depending on when I finish writing this). Second, we finally received a leaflet from Labour today and I really don't think they're even trying to contest this election. I was shocked by the poor quality and decided to share. Then I figured that I may as well document all the political bumf that Ben and I have had through the letter box during this process.

Some were addressed to me, some were addressed to Ben. Interestingly, apart from the Greens, it was different letters/leaflets addressed to each of us (if they were addressed at all), rather than any overlap.

Click on pictures to embiggen throughout.


An artfully arranged display of all our leaflets.

I'll start with the shoddy leaflet that kicked all this off, which is the last one we have received.

This one is courtesy of Labour. I'm not a Labour supporter, so I admit this might be rather biased of me, but this is possibly the worst political leaflet I have ever seen. Acres of blank space, poor grammar and spelling, and clearly has not been proof read before being printed off. Which is sad because I can only assume it's been/being passed around the district, and it's really not a good advert for the Labour Party. Read it and you'll see what I mean.

Labour leaflet )

The Conservatives have tried hardest, sending round several leaflets, and the only party to send someone to Canvass us. I should mention that neither Ben nor I are currently registered with any political party, so that can't be the reason we have quite so many Conservative mailshots. I can only assume that they're trying this hard with everyone.

This was the most recent. )

Ben had a 'personal' letter from the KCC candidate. )

Another Conservative leaflet. Can't remember when this one arrived. )

This last one is a copy of the main Conservative KCC leaflet. This one was hand delivered by the canvasser. We have two copies of this as one was in with the letter that Ben got, shown further up.

The problem we had with this is that it reads like a particularly poor CV. On the upside, there was little wasted space and it did appear to have been spell checked/proof read before it was printed.

On the downside, it does lie, as did the Canvasser about the John Simmonds (the Cons Candidate for Canterbury West, which is our ward) being "The Local Choice". The Canvasser told me that the candidate lived "just round the corner". This is untrue. John Simmonds lives in Whitstable, which is not "just round the corner". According to google maps it is actually 5.7 miles away from my address to his. I suppose it could be a very large corner...

In fact, I believe the Canvasser was referring to the Conservative candidate for the Canterbury South-West Ward (Maureen Robinson), who does live "just round the corner" in Oaks Park (I believe).

While Whiststable may be "local", it's not local in the sense the canvasser, and I believe the leaflet, were aiming at.

Not impressed.

Also not impressed with myself - I only remembered the questions I wanted to ask the canvasser (pot holes, Iceland[as in banks, not supermarkets]) after I closed the door, and I wasn't about to go chasing after him!

Conservative leaflet for KCC. )

The Green Party sent us two leaflets, one addressed to each of us. Unfortunately they were both identical and both came through the post. Have to wonder about the Carbon Footprint of that.

Green Party leaflet )

We also got a leaflet from the "No2EU" party, who appear to be endorsed only by Bob Crow of RMT Union fame.

No2EU )

We have also received the now infamous BNP leaflet. Not sure what we'll do with it yet. Possibly shred it and then set it on fire. Ben pointed out it looked rather like a kebab menu, which is funny because it's true.

I don't know where to start on the ways in which this hate filled nasty little piece of racist propaganda annoys and frustrates me, so I shan't even try. I only picture it for completeness and posterity. I hope in years to come I can look back and laugh on the fact that people ever considered voting for these cretins, especially on the basis of this.

I just hope they don't win a significant share of the vote, especially a share significant enough to win a seat.

BNP )

Given my political sympathies swing towards the Lib Dems, perhaps naturally as they were the party supported by my parents while I was growing up (I delivered my fair share of Focuses, did several shifts of telling at several elections at my local polling station, had an action room in our living room during a general election - tables and tables of addresses! - and even attended a Count as Lib Dem representative - all while I was 18 or younger) I am disappointed by the efforts of the local party.

No Canvassing, at least, not round my block of flats. Only one leaflet about only one of the two elections. Given they say on their leaflet that "only the Lib Dems can beat the Conservatives here" I don't feel like they really tried at all. One leaflet specifically about the election, and then only about the Europeans, nothing at all about KCC.

A Lib Dem publication was the first one we got during this cycle, I seem to remember anyway, but it was a regular quarterly Focus, nothing really to do with the election. It was also in need of a proof read as at the very least the URL at the bottom of page two was wrong - "www.cantlibdem" is no URL at all.

What I'm trying to say, badly, is that I'm disappointed in the Lib Dem campaign, at least in my ward. I want to vote for them, but I feel like they've done nothing to deserve it. They've certainly not actually tried to get my vote.

I hoped for more.

Focus )

We got this leaflet, which is the Lib Dem Euro specific one, only very recently - possibly the last week or so?

Euro specific Lib Dem leaflet )

I know campaigning in a Tory stronghold (Canterbury constituency has elected only Conservative MPs since 1874, the longest any current UK constituency has remained under the control of one party [source=wikipedia]), but really, if you don't make the effort (and I apply this to Labour, much as I dislike them atm, as much as I do to the Liberal Democrats) then they'll never be beaten here. Most elections here (Canterbury) seem to have a depressing enevitability about them. Purely on the basis of who sends out the most stuff and is the most visible (including on the doorstep), it is the Conservatives who are the most visible.

Anyway, I should go to bed. I'm getting up early to vote!

ETA: the election is today as I finish writing. It's gone 1am!

A few hours in London

Friday, May 1st, 2009 10:44 pm
lizziec: (Musicals)
Some friends and I are going to see Les Mis in July, and I went up to London to book the tickets in person at the box office at the Palace Theatre. I could have done it over the phone or the internet, but I had a theatre voucher and the easiest way to redeem it was in person, so I made an afternoon of it, and went on the train which, while not the cheapest way to travel, is by far the most relaxing (when things go right!).

My trusty backpack and I started off from Canterbury West. Saw a cool new train being tested (saw loads more at Ashford, mostly unliveried, which means they must be pretty new :) They certainly looked pretty). At 10:40 the train was nice and quiet so I got a four-seat with table all to myself and spread out a little.

(Click to embiggen)

I went all arty on the journey, both in to London and back to Canterbury, experimenting with my camera, getting lots of pictures of trees and things whizzing past while moving...

(Click to embiggen)

...and structures when we were stopped, or going slowly.

(Click to embiggen)

I met [livejournal.com profile] red_pill at Charing Cross, and we wandered round "Theatreland" taking some pictures and looking for the Palace Theatre so I could buy the tickets. The Priscilla, Queen of the Desert title thing and giant high heel was especially cool. The picture doesn't really do it justice - it was all sparkly!


On our way back to Charing Cross, we accidentally ran in to the May Day protests in Trafalgar Square, but we escaped without being bludgeoned by the police or the protesters :)


Headed home at 2:50pm-ish. Long way to go, but a lovely day in London and nice to be out. More importantly I was going home with what I'd come to London to get :D



All pictures.

I'm getting quite excited about going now :D If only I didn't have to wait till nearly the end of July!

Shiny thing

Friday, May 1st, 2009 09:15 pm
lizziec: (toys - max at work)
My new laptop (Thinkpad SL500) arrived on Wednesday, which was extremely exciting for me. As always, I got a lot of pictures :) Now I've finished setting it up and moving files around I finally got around to getting the pictures off my camera and posting them here to show off :)


My old laptop (Thinkpad R50e) was old...


...and pretty busted :/ (Yes, that is micropore holding a corner on.)


When I got back from picking it up there was some post for me :)


It was my new copy of Ramona Forever! :D

I'm not quite sure how I managed it, but I was patient enough to take pictures of the unwrappening:



The lid is shiny, but fingerprints silly easily.


Old vs New (click to embiggen).

All pictures.

The new one runs like a dream, even with Vista installed. I think I'm in love (sorry [livejournal.com profile] benc).

I'm still trying to decide what to do with my old one, which is staying with me for a few weeks at least so I'm sure I have everything I need from it and I'm completely happy with my new one. Any ideas? Any people maybe interested in taking it?
lizziec: (toys - max at work)
On Friday there was some interesting post and for a change it was all for me! Usually all the postie brings me is bills and bank statements, but today I got a much better haul, which inserted some excitement my usually predictable days.





First up was the TV Licence (excellent value for money IMO). Ok, so it's not very exciting, but it was part of my haul, so I included it for completeness' sake. What that TV Licence does mean is that it is coming up for four years since we moved in to our flat and had a "putting Ikea furniture together and watching Eurovision" party (pics of that here, here and here). It really doesn't seem like that long. It's also worth saying that there is nowhere near that much space in our flat any more!



Next up was my Graze Box, which was supposed to arrive on Thursday, but got stuck in the post somewhere and actually turned up on Friday instead. It was yummy - especially the fresh apple, which appeared not to have suffered from being in the post an extra day :) If you want a free first box and half price second box (you can easily cancel after the free one has turned up), then go to graze.com and enter the following code: QV67PBDC.



Last in the stack of post, a set of 15 War films given away in editions of the Daily Mail a month or so ago. Huge thanks to [livejournal.com profile] no1typo, who sullied her bank account and house by buying the paper and sending off for the films. They arrived on Friday, with the rest of my exciting post and I don't own most of them. I'm looking forward to settling down and watching them over the next few weeks :)



Finally for this post, I took the above today of my favourite bear Max posing with [livejournal.com profile] benc's eee 900A. I've made an icon out of it :) All of the pictures are here. Sometimes I think I have too much time on my hands ;)

EDIT: On the theme of geekiness, my new laptop should hopefully be showing up on Tuesday. If you've not voted in my name poll, I'd appreciate it if you would :)
lizziec: (animals - badgers)
Last Monday [livejournal.com profile] red_pill was down for a visit, so we did the touristy thing and went to Wildwood to see all the cute animals.

We started off at Canterbury Asda, where Phil got some new jeans and I went all arty on the place with my camera.

See my arty turn )

From there we proceeded to Wildwood. We chose Wildwood on the grounds that I've been before and Phil has been dying to see the cute British animals they have there for over a year. I took loads of pictures, but lots had to be deleted as they were mostly very good pictures of fences or perspex windows ;) Some of the pictures aren't as clear as I'd like them to be, but they were all taken through fences or windows, so I don't think they're too bad, given the circumstances and my lack of skill :)

All the signs had a badger theme: )

We also found a sign that clearly needed fixing - the 'preferred habitat' and 'favourite food' sections had obviously become switched at some point: )

We saw lots of animals on our travels including (but not limited to):
A red fox. )

Water birds of various types. )

Cranes (at least, I think this is a Crane ;)) )

Sleeping Arctic Foxes. )

Wild horses. )

Various types of Deer. I think this one is Fallow Deer. )

Tawny Owls. )

A sleeping polecat. )

Sleeping Badgers. )

A weasel - at least, I'm fairly sure it's a weasel. Getting a clear picture of it was extremely difficult. It's extremely fast and agile. )

Brief comedy interlude:
What's the difference between a Stoat and a Weasel?
I'm so funny )

A sleeping Lynx. )

Wolves. These were also difficult to get pictures of. I never realised how quick they were before - they all came out slightly blurry. )

Sheep. )

And Black Rats. I'm rather pleased with this picture, which was a complete fluke. )

Of course, there were lots of other animals we saw, but those are my best pictures. For the rest, see here.

Here you see the Philip Overal ('reddus pillus') in his natural habitat. )

Also on a swing... )

...and a mini-zipwire. )

We got told off shortly after that picture was taken by an eight year old who told us that the playground was only for children. We couldn't find any signs to say so though, so I have a clear conscience :). I also had a go on the zipwire. T'was good fun, even if my first go was with my eyes shut and I wouldn't let Phil give me a push off ;)

This is always good advice: )

Some camera and lens porn (SFW - not actual porn) for camera geeks: )

Philip and Little Bunny Foo-Foo pose for a picture: )

It turned out that he had worn his dressing gown to Wildwood. Arthur Dent's influence on his childhood and later life can not be overstated. )

We had lunch at The Parrot (the pub formerly known as Simple Simon's). Pictures here. Food was lovely :)

Finally we explored the River Stour a little.

It was a beautiful spring day, with the sky reflecting in the river. )

Spring is truly springing: )

Some cool throwbacks to the time when there was a mill on this particular section of the river: )

Phil got very close to the river in search of pictures. Unfortunately he didn't fall in. That might have been funny. )

It was a really nice day :)

Asda.
Wildwood.
The Parrot.
The River Stour.
Phil's pictures of the day.
lizziec: (potterpuffs - Tonks)
One for the Chalet Fans (posted last night).

I finally managed to sleep, and when I woke up my camera was charged, so with [livejournal.com profile] benc's help, I photographed the cover again, properly, in decent light (so ridding the pictures of that yellow fuzzy hue).

Here's the decent version:


(There's also a huge version)

Here's the cover, free of annotations:


---

Spent today doing the above, shopping and seeing my in-laws. I can tell you are all awe-inspired by the excitingness of my life right now ;)
lizziec: (Chalet School)
I couldn't sleep, so I made this:



Sorry about the picture quality, I took it with my camera phone cos I went to use my proper camera and found that the battery was flat (now on charge) and I was too impatient to wait for it to be ready. I'm very pleased with myself for working out how to stick them all together in Paint Shop though :)

Might make a better quality one if I can be bothered.

Picture is of the cover of my GGB copy of The Chalet School Reunion. It has been annotated according to the key on the last page of that edition.
lizziec: (npower - orbs wot ben made for me)
There's still snow here today, not as much as most of you but a good inch or so, and more is falling now, meaning UKC is closing at 2pm, and a couple of schools are closing now that were open earlier due to worsening conditions. Our stairs, which have been swept and salted twice since yesterday are overwhelmed with snow again. It's all rather exciting ;)

For readers elsewhere I should explain that here in the UK, especially in the South East corner (and I'm almost as south and east as you can get) we don't usually get snow, especially snow that settles enough to do stuff in due to the jet stream which keeps Britain warm, despite it being on the same longitude as Moscow (I believe). So when it does snow and settles it causes chaos ;)

Our excitement this morning was doubled (or more!) by being able to have a proper play with [livejournal.com profile] benc's Christmas present, Lego Technic set 8275, a Motorized Bulldozer in the snow.

Research suggested it would work very well in the snow, as there are videos of the Lego development team testing one of the development models in the snow, but we still wanted to have a play ourselves. This most recent (and heavy) snow has given us the perfect opportunity.

So we did. Here are the videos to prove it!

First [livejournal.com profile] benc had a go while I filmed:


Then I drove it while [livejournal.com profile] benc filmed:


Picture of ben playing with his shiny )

I think I can safely say that a good time was had by all :)

Best favicon *evar*?

Wednesday, January 21st, 2009 08:55 am
lizziec: (cartoon penguins stealing sanity)
The BBC have done it again.

In this entry I told you all about how the BBC asked people send in Olympic logo ideas, and then they published a selection, including one that was a straight rip off of Goatse (if you don't know what it is, look here - SFW, just contains a description not the actual picture.)

Well they've asked for reader contributions again in the wake of Google getting a new favicon on their magazine page, saying "You've read about Google's new favicon - now design one yourself - either a personal favicon or one to represent the Magazine, and send it to us".

Once again, a goatse has slipped through the net.

Scroll down the page to the bottom, the contribution in question is from "Steven, Coventry" (and is SFW).

Just in case the BBC take it down, I took screenshots! SFW.

BBC magazine page screenshot )

Favicon closeup )

Some things

Tuesday, January 20th, 2009 08:18 am
lizziec: (cartoon giraffe #1)
A meme:



You Are a Comma



You are open minded and extremely optimistic.

You enjoy almost all facets of life. You can find the good in almost anything.



You keep yourself busy with tons of friends, activities, and interests.

You find it hard to turn down an opportunity, even if you are pressed for time.



Your friends find you fascinating, charming, and easy to talk to.

(But with so many competing interests, you friends do feel like you hardly have time for them.)



You excel in: Inspiring people



You get along best with: The Question Mark



As with most memes, I have no idea how true it is.

Weirdest advert I've seen in a long time. Saw this while watching something on tv, and boggled. Still boggling at it a few days after inital exposure. So I thought I'd share ;) )

Finally, I know that Britain, nay The World, is "Credit Crunched" (*shudders* - I hate that term), but I think that this is going a bit far in terms of swapping products to save money )

Christmas

Wednesday, December 24th, 2008 07:13 pm
lizziec: (me - phil'sfirstchristmas)
Our Advent Candle has just burned out, so that can only mean one thing* - it's Christmas tomorrow!
*Ok, two things - we could have left it to burn too long... but we didn't and it is Christmas tomorrow! :D


Photo courtesy of [livejournal.com profile] benc

In case I don't post again before Boxing day, a very merry, happy and peaceful Christmas to all of you! :)
lizziec: (potterpuffs - neville and luna)
Went in to Woolworths again the other day, had the feeling of the vultures circling, as Ben so excellently put it. He took a proper camera so I can share the sense of emptiness there.




The worst thing about our trip to town though, was this little gem that we saw at the building site in the middle of the high street - for those who know Canterbury, it's where Boots used to be (opposite LloydsTSB). It's a proper sign printed on aluminium and clearly cost more than some guy scribbling on some cardboard or something. Which leads me to wonder why during the process of producing the sign and displaying it, no one involved noticed.



All pictures in this post from [livejournal.com profile] benc.

ETA: Have some more gratuitous gerbil pictures to finish with :D
lizziec: (XKCD sheeple)
Disclaimer: All pictures in this post taken with crappy phone camera. Apologies for the crappiness.

To begin - why on earth is Sainsbury's stocking Hot Cross Buns in December? Before Christmas even?! There are still four months till Easter and it makes my brain hurt to have shop products commemorating His death before we've even celebrated His birth yet.



Today I was in town and (finally) applied for a Cathedral Precincts Pass (we live within four miles of the Bell Harry Tower so we're entitled to one giving us free entry). Other Canterbury-ites who are interested can download the form here. You're eligible if... ) It might be worth your while applying if you are eligible :) Free Stuff ++ . Also, Canterbury residents cards don't work for getting in for free at the Cathedral.

While I was in town I also made a visit to Woolworths for the first time since the closing down was announced and it was very sad :( There wasn't a lot left and none of it was really stuff I wanted to buy. I guess the latter is the reason why they're now defunct. They've even started selling off the fixtures and fittings. That really is quite gutting to see. Can't work out why it is, but it is.



Got home to the news that the list of final closures has been published (list here) and Canterbury is going in the first wave - on the 27th December. Can't help feeling how crappy it is for those (soon to be un)employed by Woolworths. Also of interest to me were that Croydon's is going on 30th December and Coulsdon's is closing on 2nd January. More gapes in the high streets :( It's really all rather sad.

More disturbing to me was that Woolworths has the below signs plastered everywhere. It was quiet (and almost cleared out) when I went, but what kind of chaos must have reigned for these to have to be put up? This is why I'm losing what little faith I had in humanity :(

lizziec: (apod - hale-bopp comet)
Our Christmas Tree has been up for a week now (a week today :D) so I thought it was about time I wrote an entry about it.

All the pictures of our Christmas Tree and decorations.

Last Saturday [livejournal.com profile] benc and I went and got our Christmas Tree from Wyvale Garden Centre. We got last year's tree from there too, and knew they had little tiny ones that fitted in (the limited space in) our flat. It's almost unbearably sweet, only two feet or so tall, and potted so it can be planted out after Christmas. Last year's ended up with foo and [livejournal.com profile] rahslowe being planted out in their garden. I believe [livejournal.com profile] no1typo has designs on this one and her garden. It's nice to know that they go on living after Christmas :)

The tree was sodden when we brought it back... )

Once it was dry enough, on the Sunday, we decided to start decorating it. We started by getting out the decorations )

Next we tested our lights. )

These lights had been on our tree (also here with lights on)in the first Christmases we were at the flat (and first married), but as we accumulated more stuff, we could fit smaller and smaller trees in, so they don't fit round our trees now because they're so tiny. Instead we put them up round our window. )

Then we made sure the angel for the top of the tree was in good condition )

and put the tree in its new home )

Next we put the lights on the tree. )

Finally we put the decorations on the tree )

A slightly shaky picture of the tree with the main lights off, and the room only lit by the window and tree lights. )

We're pretty much ready for Christmas now. Decorations up, Presents brought, cards posted (all before the posting deadline, with the exception of one for Canada - ah well, at least I tried ;)), Advent candle mostly burned, food brought. Feeling pretty pleased with myself now ;)

Have some gratuitous pictures of our Gerbils to finish :)

A cool picture of Stan and (part of)Nibbler with the flash off, showing the movement of them, which I thought was quite cool. )
Stan: )
Nibbler: )

P.S. Happy shortest day of the year/Winter Solstice :)
lizziec: (Stargate SG1 Daniel Jackson)
A bit of an update entry here, using crappy phone camera pictures to show a little of what I've been up to :)

Firstly, due to a deal between mum and Pete I was the agent delivering 43 beers to Pete (and buying said beer), leading to a rather odd looking collection of goods when I made the purchase - 43 beers and a packet of naan bread for our dinner that evening. I'm fairly sure that the collection would have looked a whole lot less odd if it hadn't been for the naan bread.



The clunking of that lot in the car sounded quite dreadful as I accelerated, braked, turned corners... Luckily nothing broke :)



In other news, the Christmas Market is now in town! There's a stall that sells cool keyrings and 3D wooden puzzels. I've got some pictures of the keyrings, but not the puzzels :( Also, not the full spectrum of keyrings - there are lizards and frogs, and elephants, and giraffes and all sorts, all made from natural rubber :)





There's a stall with mulled wine and hot chocolate (regular hot chocolate and hot chocolate with rum or amaretto).



There's also a stall selling all kinds of Wurst, cooked over a barbeque. This stall is ben's favourite! :D



Finally, I took this picture of a very funny card:

NSFW! )

Carols at the Cathedral tonight. I'm really looking forward to it :D It always feels like Christmas is really on its way when we have them. It also really enthralls the history part of me, as we stand in the Nave of the Cathedral with all the lights off, holding lit candles and singing carols, because I feel a real connection to the past - 100 years ago, 400 years ago, 1000 (or so) years ago there would have been people there doing much the same thing. It's hard to articulate, but it feels amazing.
lizziec: (XKCD hokey religions)
I originally posted something like this when I first went on a trip to Ypres with my Special Subject class in April 2005. The original is here on my LiveJournal, and the version I'm posting now is here on my website.

I'm posting it again today because I feel it's appropriate for Remembrance Sunday.

Cut for legnth - it's very long ;) )
lizziec: (XKCD drunk)
[livejournal.com profile] benc has just come to a startling conclusion that I feel must be shared with the world.

The last time the economy crashed Norman Lamont was Chancellor.


This time, Alastair Darling is Chancellor.


What do they have in common? )

Thus, the solution to the UK's economic woes is... )
lizziec: (animals - gerbil - nibbler)
I went with [livejournal.com profile] no1typo today to Greenwich to have a wander around the market and we had a lovely time. We both arrived early because we did not want to be late, and had a starbucks with a pastry which was excellent (in my rush to be not late, I skipped breakfast), after which we went for a wander through the market. We saw many excellent and lovely things and I wish I could afford or have space for half of them. In the end I came home with a pair of earrings and two pairs of socks, which are just awesome:




The giraffe ones are my absolute favourites.

In the course of our wanderings we saw this shop with its retro 80s sign, had a peek at how the Cutty Sark was doing, saw low flying RAF rescue helicopter which landed near the Dome (I hope noone was hurt) and had a ride on the amusingly named "Wheel of Excellence" (here). The view was spectacular. It's there till some time in September, so if you're in the area I can recommend a trip on it. It's only £7 for an adult and I think good value for what you get :) It's no London Eye, but it doesn't really pretend to be in size, legnth of ride or price :)

All pictures here. Sorry for the quality - I didn't take my lovely Panasonic to Greenwich with me, so took them with my phone's camera.

Old UKC pictures

Tuesday, July 29th, 2008 11:15 pm
lizziec: (Rocks fall)
I finally got round to photographing and uploading more pictures from "From Vision to Reality", as well as rephotographing those that were already there so they are better quality. They are here for those who want to look :) I've also made a new LJ icon.

ION: I went to see The Dark Knight this evening at Ashford. Twas good. Won't say any more though in case of spoilers.

Apostrophail

Monday, July 7th, 2008 12:10 am
lizziec: (animals - giraffe kiss)
Mum, Phil, Ben and I went to the Cemetary today to do some general housekeeping on daddy's grave - cleaning the headstone, fresh flowers and stuff while generally remembering him and having a rather nice time. His birthday would have been tomorrow (or today! - 7th July) and even if we only go once a year we generally try and time it around his birthday.

Anyway, walking the quarter of a mile or so back from daddy's grave to the main gate Ben spotted this spectacular error in grammar.



As Phil said, you would really think that people would check things are correct before going and actually etching it in to stone. It's not as if gravestones are particularly cheap.
lizziec: (animals - giraffe mother and baby)
Ben and I watched the series finale of Doctor Who earlier, but obviously have not really discussed it online yet, in deference to those who have for some reason or another not been able to watch it yet. However, the BBC seemingly have no such restraint as they have managed to completely spoiler the episode for anyone who has not seen it yet.

First (and please don't click on these links unless you've seen it or don't care cos I don't want angry complaints on my journal ;)), they point out key plot points in their Ticker across the top of the front page of the news website. Secondly on the front page of the "Entertainment section" they pretty much give away the entire plot in the headline and summary. Then if you actually go in to the article the whole ending is laid bare as well as or better than any spoiler or summary site on the internet could.

Nice job BBC ;) I wonder how many angry people will get in contact to complain.

Funny cartoon

Friday, June 13th, 2008 04:04 pm
lizziec: (apod - lightening-moon)
Saw this, thought it was funny, decided I'd share :)



From Left Handed Toons
lizziec: (beauty&the beast belle book)
A good while ago now (9th April 2008) I sent in a complaint to the BBC. I was unhappy that after the redesign of their news website it didn't work properly in firefox. As you can see from my screenshots (firefox, Internet Explorer) text often appeared very small for some paragraphs, especially near photographs. It did not do this in Internet Explorer.

My complaint said:

"I have noticed a fairly major problem with the new bbc news website, in that it clearly has not been tested extensively in Firefox, as opposed to Internet Explorer. In Firefox there are parts of articles that appear in tiny font (see http://carina.org.uk/piccies/screenshots/BBCNews%20firefox.jpg.html) and these appear as normal text in IE (see http://carina.org.uk/piccies/screenshots/BBCNews%20IE.jpg.html). This shows an unacceptable bias towards Microsoft by the BBC, and is frustrating that to see the BBC news website properly I have to use a browser that is more insecure than my browser of choice. Please tell me what will be done to fix this?"

Two days later (11th April) I recieved back what was essentially a placeholder reply:

"Dear

Thank you for contacting the BBC.

This is to let you know that we've received your recent complaint and will respond as soon as possible, however I hope you understand that the time taken to do so can depend on the nature of your complaint and the number of other complaints we're currently dealing with. The BBC issues public responses to issues which prompt large numbers of significant complaints and these can be read on our website at:

www.bbc.co.uk/complaints.

We'd be grateful if you would not reply to this email - in the meantime, we'd like to thank you for again for contacting us with your concerns and appreciate your patience in awaiting a response.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact the BBC.

Regards

James Kelly
BBC Complaints
"

I have to admit I was pretty annoyed but accepted that this was part of contacting a public and high profile company and it probably took time to go through the number of emails that they get.

Having said that, I only got a "proper" reply to my original complaint today, 7 weeks and 1 day after my original query, and I'm a bit narked, especially given what apparently constitutes a proper reply for them.

"Dear Mrs Charlton

Thanks for your e-mail.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in replying. We know our correspondents appreciate a quick response and we are sorry you have had to wait on this occasion.

I understand you feel the new BBC News website has not been tested extensively in Firefox as in Firefox there are parts of articles that appear in tiny font.

I also acknowledge you believe this shows an unacceptable bias towards Microsoft by the BBC which is frustrating as you have to use a browser that is more insecure than your browser of choice.

I cannot guarantee this will be rectified however I have forwarded your concerns to the site owners for their attention.

Please be assured that I've registered your complaint on our audience log. This is a daily report of audience feedback that's circulated to many BBC staff, including members of the BBC Executive Board, channel controllers and other senior managers.

Thank you again Mrs Charlton for taking the time to contact us.

Regards

Jonathan Dunlop
BBC Complaints
"

On the upside, the final email refered to me by name rather than just Dear Blank. On the downside their response was basically a copy paste of my original email, and an original sentence saying they can't guarentee a fix. The blatanty copy-pasting as a way of trying to show that they understand my complaint makes the whole thing completely ridiculous. I would have felt more listened to if he had just said they had read my original email and understood my concerns, as it is, it feels as if the BBC complaints department are schoolchildren who copy paste whatever anyone sends them without really comprehending what the words actually mean.

I am not at all impressed. On this occasion BBC---------
lizziec: (carebear star)
I found this link earlier: "He Took A Polaroid Every Day Until The Day He Died".

"Yesterday I came across a slightly mysterious website — a collection of Polaroids, one per day, from March 31, 1979 through October 25, 1997. There’s no author listed, no contact info, and no other indication as to where these came from. So, naturally, I started looking through the photos. I was stunned by what I found."

Go look - it's well worth it.
lizziec: (willy fogg (book))
London trip (including the Science Museum) )

Last night I caught a Giant Moth. Ugh.

Giant Moth (see? I'm not exaggerating!) )

Today I've been watching Around The World With Willy Fogg (theme tune), which was one of the blockbuster dvds that turned up recently. It's such fun :D I really enjoy 80s cartoons :) In it's honour I've made a new lj icon (see the one with this post :))

Phew. That was quite an update. I daresay there won't be another proper one for months now!
lizziec: (casualty - Charlie)
Today I fell down half a flight of stairs from our flat. I mis-stepped on the top step and fell until the halfway break and its railings stopped my fall. It hurt.

Anyone thinking of falling down stairs (especially concrete ones with sharp edges) take my advice. Don't.

I was checked out at the hospital, and didn't break anything luckily (and rather miraculously). I have scraped most of the skin off my left shin though, and have grazes on my left shin, right thigh, left forearm and right upper arm, and an enormous bump on my forehead. And I'm black and blue in a way that ben's pictures (see below for link) don't show (mostly because they've been coming up since he took the pictures at the minor injuries unit at the K&C).

Pictures here.

It really hurt when the nurse cleaned the grazes up, because underneith is all bruised and there was grit and stuff in wounds that had mostly scabbed over. Apparently all colour drained from my face.

Anyway, now you all know how stupid I can be.

On the upside neither my glasses nor my phone were destroyed, despite falling twice as far as me. In fact, the phone didn't even disconnect the call I had going at the time. Talk about impressive (and lucky). Yay!

Again, I reiterate, if you're thinking of falling down stairs, don't ;)
lizziec: (evil bunnies)
My new phone arrived today. See here for pictures of it as I unpacked it.

Here it is next to my old phone:


Mmm, shiny.

While moving stuff from my old phone to my new one, I grabbed a whole load of pictures off it and uploaded them. They are nyah.

They include:
* a picture of the roof in the Physics Marlowe building after the plastic roof blew off and Estates covered the hole with tarpaulin (which then also blew off,hence why there are two tarpaulins of different colours there).
* A picture taken at the last BNL concert I went to. See why I took such a crappy picture here.
* Dalek Operation found in ASDA a while ago.

Enjoy!

P.S. Go comment on ben's journal here. He says it's "vitally important".
lizziec: (Jon Stewart)
I went to Wildwood (again) the other day (this time with [livejournal.com profile] rahslowe and her sister, Hannah) and got some more animal pictures, quite different from the ones last time because most of the Animals weren't co-operating. Pictures here. Best picture was of an American Bullfrog, I'm quite pleased with it. Pity about the grass that kind of got in the way of my shot.



The other thing that happened to me recently was a mobile phone upgrade. I was due for my upgrade a couple of weeks ago but put it off till yesterday, and had the weirdest and easiest upgrade ever (which is why I'm writing about something so mundane :p)

My current phone is a Sony Ericsson W300i and I've been very happy with it for the most part, but it's 18 months old, scratched and generally looking and starting to behave like a phone that's 18 months old (unimportant bits falling off it and such).

Anyway, I decided to pull my finger out yesterday and call T-Mobile (who I've been with for nearly 6 years now on contract, and four years before that on PAYG, and part of that was when they were still One2One). What can I say, I'm really happy with them, always had excellent customer service from them, and not had any problems with coverage - when I was first with them they were the only ones with signal covering my mum's house (necessary since I was living there at the time).

I got through to customer services very quickly and asked about an upgrade. A very chirpy scotsman confirmed I was due, and said I was a high value customer to them, and as such he wasn't going to offer me any deals - I should just say what I wanted and he would make it happen. So I said I was after the Sony Ericsson W890i, which according to T-Mobile's website should cost me about £50. He said I could have it for free, then gave me a discount off my bill (£4 a month) without me asking. Win :D I was really surprised, but very impressed with their customer service, which for me was impeccable. So I'm writing this all down, to act as a record for just how pleased I am with them and why.

My new phone should arrive on Tuesday morning. Mmm, shiny :)
lizziec: (LDS - official ex-member)
On mum's birthday we went to Hampton Court Palace (click for pictures). It was a lovely day :)

This week is part of the Easter Holidays for schools, and Sue asked me if I would like to go with her and three of her children to Wildwood. It seemed like a nice way to spend my afternoon so I agreed. Here are the pictures of what I did my afternoon :)


Wild Boar Piglets



Badgers



Polecat


It was a lovely day :)

Science Tattoos

Monday, March 24th, 2008 01:15 pm
lizziec: (lego l)
Through a blog I read, I had my attention drawn to this site showing various science tattoos. It's really cool, and I really recommend that you spend a few minutes having a look :)

Judas. And quizzes.

Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 11:08 pm
lizziec: (me - Me at the post)
A random though occurred to me while in the bath tonight. I should point out before I write this thought down that it was conjured up by random musings while humming Jesus Christ, Superstar songs to myself. I have no idea what the bible says about this or anything.

Anyway, it occurred to me that Judas really got a raw deal. Assuming that the whole thing is real (and I really don't know where I stand on that at the moment, so please don't ask or try to convince me either way), Jesus had to die so the whole resurrection thing could happen. The whole thing was pre ordained. Therefore someone would always have had to have turned Jesus in. Judas is very badly thought of for doing it and the word today generally means a betrayer. Really, sucks to have been him. Talk about a no win situation. If he hadn't dobbed Jesus in then he wouldn't have died on the cross and been resurrected and then ascended in to heaven and so Jesus could not have taken on everyone's sins and allowed for repentence and whatever. But if he had then he would have been branded forever and presumably sent to hell. I almost feel sorry for the guy. If he existed.

Hmm. That was all rather heavy and brain dumpy. Have some quizzes to take your minds off it.

My brain sex and which Austen Heroine I am )

Finally, I want to draw your attention to the Photomeme which only one person (hi mum!) seems to want to do. Please participate? :)
lizziec: (me - schooluniform)
I am currently suffering from pancake overdose, having had a three course pancake meal (started with pancakes with OJ and sugar, main was pancakes with cheddar cheese, pudding was pancakes with chocolate sauce and ice cream!) After that I doubt I'll be eating them again much before next Shrove Tuesday ;)

I spent the afternoon playing with my new camera, and took the opportunity to take lots of pictures of our two gerbils which we've had for about four months now but which I have not blogged about before.

Pictures of our gerbils, Stan and Nibbler. Stan is the caramel one, and named after a Canadian folk singer called Stan Rogers. Nibbler is the grey (and he does have red eyes - it's not just my crappy photography! ;)) and I named him. Which is possibly why he isn't named after a Canadian folk singer! I don't think they loved me very much for taking pictures though - after a while they went and hid in the back corner of their tank!

Stan and Nibbler )

By the way, before anyone else pastes me the URL - I have seen the BBC's "Mormon" story about the Preston Temple/MTC. My response is at the bottom of this LJ entry for anyone who is interested.

Finally, a meme, stolen from [livejournal.com profile] hopeful_rose.



You are breakfasty, like a pile of pancakes on a Sunday morning that have just the right amount of syrup, so every bite is sweet perfection and not a soppy mess. You are a glass of orange juice that's cool, refreshing, and not overly pulpy. You are the time of day that's just right for turning the pages of a newspaper, flipping through channels, or clicking around online to get a sense of how the world changed during the night. You don't want to stumble sleepily through life, so you make a real effort to wake your brain up and get it thinking. You feel inspired to accomplish things (whether it's checking something off your to-do list or changing the world), but there's plenty of time for making things happen later in the day. First, pancakes.

It's great because it talks about Pancakes. On pancake day! Hurrah!
lizziec: (me - schooluniform)
I was having a bad day a few days ago when ben cheered me up by pointing out to me this story in the local free rag, which clearly shows some students at CCCU who, if they had died in the fire, would have been candidates for the Darwin Awards.

The article )

For those who CBA to read the article themselves, basically there was a fire in an empty house next door to where the students lived. The students, Dan Fowler and Elliot Preston, originally did the clever thing and evacuated their own house - "There was a loud bang at the door. It was someone telling us to get out because the house next door was on fire."

Elliot took his laptop and alerted his housemate and they got out. So far, so clever.

But then: "We got outside but then I sent Dan back in to get the XBox. Unfortunately we broke Pro-Evolution Soccer in the process, which was not cool." It would have been even less cool if the fire had spread and they'd died in the process, although then they would have removed themselves from the gene pool, which after doing something so monumentally stupid may not have been a bad thing.

In other news, these are the final pictures to be taken with my old camera, a Fuji Finepix A210, which has done stirling service for over four years - it was purchased for me as a joint present from everyone when I turned 20.

The other day I purchased a Panasonic Lumix fz8, which was on manager's special for about £80 less than RRP because it was lacking a manual and a charger ;) The real shininess of the Lumix is the Leica lens. Before ben upgraded to a proper D-SLR he had a Panasonic Lumix fz30 and said that the lens was what really made the camera. I suspect that will be the case with this one too. The new charger arrived this morning, so in the next few days I will go out and take some test shots with it to show everyone :) Then I can tell you just how shiny (or not) the fz8 turns out to be :)
lizziec: (obama britain)
I was bored today, so I made some LJ icons based on some mormon icon templates (except one - can you guess which? :P)

Shared in case any of you are interested :) (plus, I am proud of my handiwork ;))

Exmormon LJ icons )
lizziec: (obama britain)
I was bored today, so I made some LJ icons based on some mormon icon templates (except one - can you guess which? :P)

Shared in case any of you are interested :) (plus, I am proud of my handiwork ;))

Exmormon LJ icons )

January 2020

M T W T F S S
   12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Saturday, March 28th, 2026 09:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios