Eye test

Saturday, October 24th, 2009 12:56 pm
lizziec: (Chalet School)
Yesterday was rather busy by my standards. It was the 6 year anniversary of Ben and I getting together and we went out for dinner at Cafe Des Amis in Canterbury - the first time I've been and it was yummy. I would highly recommend, though wish you better luck in who you sit next to. The people next to us started arguing and walked out half way through the starter. Exciting!

Ben was very sweet and got me chocolate, Season 3 of ER and some flowers. It was lovely and the flowers look so cheerful :)

We ended up in town in the afternoon because he had the day off and I needed (was overdue) an eyetest and wanted him to come so I had some advice on what glasses to pick afterwards. Even if my prescription had remained the same, I needed new glasses anyway.

Sooooo... previous eye test.

New eye test:
(Sph is my short sight, Cyl is my astigmatism)

Right eye
Sph: -1.75
Cyl: -1.00
Axis 20

Left eye
Sph: -2.50
Cyl: -1.25
Axis: 180

So my astigmatism is marginally better in my left eye, and my short sight marginally better in my right eye, but this eye test has pretty much confirmed that my sight is settling down, which is nice. I suspect, short of laser eye surgery I won't have 20:20 without glasses, but I'm pretty pleased that it's at least not really getting worse any more.

It turns out that with glasses I have superhuman sight! BWhahahahahaha - well, what I mean is, with my new glasses I have better than 20:20 vision (two notches better apparently). It's a pity that without them everything is blurry :(

Will post pics of me with new glasses when I get them (on Thursday). These are them (and these are my new sunglasses). It's a bit scary how fast money disappears when you buy an eyetest and new glasses (even on 2 for 1).

Happy Birthday NHS

Saturday, July 5th, 2008 01:42 pm
lizziec: (acid)
Today the NHS turns 60, and I want to wish it a very happy birthday and wish it well for the next 60. I know there are plenty of problems with it, I am not blinkered enough to say that there could not be improvements, but I believe that it is one of the greatest achievements of this country, especially in the post-World War II period. Here's why.

In 1900 (that's only 108 years ago) in this country:
* Life expectancy was below 50 years
* 163 out of every 1000 babies born died before they reached the age of 1 (that's 16.3%)
* The majority of families could not afford to see a doctor

The government refused to interfere as the emphasis at this point in time was on a "laissez-faire" country, meaning that things should be left to take their own course. It was believed that interference by the Government would strangle the economy, so generally people were left to sink or swim as they could. During the latter years of the 19th Century, and the early years of the 20th Century many reports began to come out which drew attention to the plight of the poor, which was reinforced by something of a recruitment crisis for the army during the Boer War. Of those who volunteered 35% (over a third) were rejected as medically unfit, generally because of problems related to poverty.

This changed in 1906 when the Liberal Party was elected, with David Lloyd George as their Chancellor of the Exchequor, and what followed was a package of reforms that ultimately led to a constitutional crisis. The reforms included the setting up of Old Age Pensions, free school meals (which went quite some way to tackling malnutrition among the poor), slum clearance programmes and Labour Exchanges (see here for more information).

The most pertinent reform to what I'm discussing today was the 1911 National Health Insurance act, which brought in various safeguards for those in employment who could afford to contribute to a scheme, which would then pay for them to go see a doctor if ill, and pay a small sum every week if the contributor were unemployed or unable to work. The government paid a sum to the scheme, as did the employer. The limitations of this scheme were numerous. It only covered those able to work, which at this period were mostly men, and even then the only hospitalisation it payed for was sanitorium treatment for TB. It did not cover those earning too little to be able to afford to contribute, children, the elderly, women, and those who were chronically and mentally ill. As a result, many still relied on the quack remedies that they had done before the scheme came in to force. The sad truth was that despite the advances in Medicine that had taken place, most people could not access it. The major problems with NHI showed themselves in the 1930s during the Great Depression when so many were out of work, and so many accounts in arrears (upwards of 4 million) that the companies running the schemes made no profit, which was compounded when the government reduced its contribution.

The turning point came with the Second World War. The Government were in possession of some rather terrifying figures about expected casualty rates as a result of any enemy bombing action, which thankfully never came to pass, though the Government did not know this at the start of the war. Expected Casualties (because I found this during my dissertation research and I think it's really interesting) ) As a result the Government planned various strategies to deal with the expected casualties (including a stockpile of cardboard coffins). The one relevant to this "History of the NHS", is the Emergency Hospital Scheme, which was funded and run by the Government and was "designed to serve the purpose of a moment" - to look after those injured in the war, especially bombing victims. Under this scheme any treatment needed, including hospitalisation, was free. It was during this period, in 1942, the the Beveridge Report was published which proposed a "free national health service" as a way of combating the five 'Giant Evils' of Want, Disease, Ignorance, Squalor and Idleness. The Conservatives, who nominally had the majority in the Commons at this time (though there was actually a "Government of National Unity" in power) refused to commit to putting in place the reforms, which was one of the reasons why they were beaten so comprehensively by the Labour party in the 1945 General Election. One of their first acts when they got in to power was the 1946 National Health Service Act, which provided in law for a free and comprehensive health care system.

The first day of this National Health Service was to be 5th July 1948 but there was an enormous amount of work that had to take place before it could start, including the nationalisation of Hospitals, the creation of health centres, the better/fairer distribution of doctors around the country and the creation of a new salary structure. On top of all this work, there was a huge amount of opposition (as with any large and sudden change). Most Local Authorities and Charitable Organisations who had previously run hospitals were opposed, as were doctors, who did not want to be employed by the government, or told where to work. In fact, at the beginning of 1948 90% of doctors said that they would not co-operate with the NHS. There was also opposition from many who were scared by the huge costs involved, but Aneurin Bevan who was Minister for Health at this time argued that Britain could afford it, and had to afford it. Bevan worked extremely hard to ensure the creation of the NHS, and by hook or by crook (he allowed doctors to work for the NHS and keep private patients while getting the public to sign up with doctors for the NHS - if a doctor didn't sign the form, he risked losing the patient [and the funding that came with them] to a doctor who would), made sure that over 90% of doctors had signed up by the opening day.

The benefits of the NHS were visible very quickly, especially in those groups which had not been covered until its creation. Maternal and infant mortality levels fell very quickly and life expectancy rose, especially as the new techniques and drugs (such as Penicillin) became available at no cost to people who would have died for want of them.

In 2008 we're looking at:
* An average life expectancy of 77 years, with more and more living until 100.
* An average of 5.2 out of every 1000 babies dying before the age of 1 (0.52%) [figures from 2006]
* Everyone can see a doctor, irrespective of whether they can pay

What I'm trying to say in an incredibly long winded way is that the NHS may not be perfect, but in comparison to what we have had before it is amazing, and I sometimes think we lose sight of just how brilliant it is amongst all the complaining about the things that are wrong and the compromises that sometimes have to be made.

My dad was chronically ill with Type 1 Diabetes most of his life, and we did not have to pay towards his care. His final illness and the two weeks spent in intensive care did not bankrupt us. My sister was born 15 weeks prematurely and spent her 16 hours of life receiving the best care available in 1982, and my parents were not left with a crippling bill as well as a dead daughter. When my mum hurt her back and she was in bed for 6 weeks her care (a physio, home help twice a day, doctors visits, nurse visits) did not cost us. When my mum was pregnant with me and was kept in hospital for most of those 9 months my parents did not have to check her out because they were worried about the cost, nor did they have to worry about the bill they were getting at the end. When I was ill with depression I did not have to worry about the cost of my prescriptions or my counselling. The times Phil has injured himself we have not had to worry about the bill from the Hospital for getting him checked out. Ben and I have not had to worry that while I've been off work I've been without coverage for my health (or traded electricity/food/rent for insurance coverage).

I think there's a lot to be said for that. So Happy Birthday NHS, here's to many many more.

ETA: Pretty much 1500 words. I wrote as much as that in some of my degree essays. Sorry guys!

ETA2 (2011): Since I wrote this my mum died from a rare form of Cancer. Her care was second to none and nothing was denied her on grounds of cost. We were not left with crippling bills, and not having to worry about finding money for her care made her last weeks and days easier for everyone.
lizziec: (casualty - Charlie)
Today I fell down half a flight of stairs from our flat. I mis-stepped on the top step and fell until the halfway break and its railings stopped my fall. It hurt.

Anyone thinking of falling down stairs (especially concrete ones with sharp edges) take my advice. Don't.

I was checked out at the hospital, and didn't break anything luckily (and rather miraculously). I have scraped most of the skin off my left shin though, and have grazes on my left shin, right thigh, left forearm and right upper arm, and an enormous bump on my forehead. And I'm black and blue in a way that ben's pictures (see below for link) don't show (mostly because they've been coming up since he took the pictures at the minor injuries unit at the K&C).

Pictures here.

It really hurt when the nurse cleaned the grazes up, because underneith is all bruised and there was grit and stuff in wounds that had mostly scabbed over. Apparently all colour drained from my face.

Anyway, now you all know how stupid I can be.

On the upside neither my glasses nor my phone were destroyed, despite falling twice as far as me. In fact, the phone didn't even disconnect the call I had going at the time. Talk about impressive (and lucky). Yay!

Again, I reiterate, if you're thinking of falling down stairs, don't ;)

A busy week

Saturday, May 12th, 2007 04:36 pm
lizziec: (granny's garden bee)
It's been an eventful week really.

On Tuesday my P60 arrived and I found I paid too much tax last year \o/ I called the tax office and they say it should be pretty straight forward to sort out once I send them my pay documents. Only problem is my records are in Yorkshire (!) from when I worked through Crown Personnel in 2005. Apparently Crown do their financial stuff through Yorkshire and so my records are there, despite me never having lived there! I'm also a little concerned that I've been working for the University for 8 months now and the last place they have me down as employed was for Crown. Ah well...once my records are in the right place I can send in my documents and get a refund :D

On Friday night Ben and I drove to Mitcham fix my Aunt's computer problem, which was very easily solved and had chinese when we got home. Yummy :)

Today we have been scarily productive. Went to Ashford (which appears to be in the process of being completely dug up) and had my eyes tested.

The results of the eye test were pretty good really, my eyes are settling down. The myopia got slightly worse in my right eye, but my astigmatism has improved and my left eye is unchanged :) Apparently my eyes are also very healthy :D

The results from my last test in January 2005 were:
Right Eye
sph: -1.75
cyl: -1.25
axis: 17

Left Eye
sph: -2.50
cyl: -1.75
axis: 4

This time:
Right Eye
sph: -2.00
cyl: -1.00
axis: 20

Left Eye
sph: -2.50
cyl: -1.50
axis: 2.5

Originally we went to Ashford because VisionExpress in Ashford (but not Canterbury) had a 2 for £99 offer on and I wanted a pair of Sunglasses as well as normal glasses. Unfortunately the glasses in the offer were all either rubbish (so wouldn't last two years) or didn't suit me (lots of angular frames which don't suit my face :() so we went round practically every optician in Ashford to find some that suited me and we could afford. We encountered stellar performances and incompetence (in one - Batemans - there were two receptionists, both of whom asked if they could help me and neither of whom could tell me how much an anti-reflective scratch resistant coating was *sigh*.

Ended up buying two pairs from SpecSavers (absolutely no love to the specsavers assistant who explained to me that 2.5 was "two and a half in English" - I know I'm bad at maths but I'm not that bad) on their BOGOF on designer pairs which I go to collect next Saturday :) The cost of glasses and eyetests scares me ;) Hope I like them when they're done. I encountered the same problem practically everywhere - the fashion at the moment appears to be for squareish/rectangular glasses or plastic ones with wings which I'm sure wouldn't have been out of place when my mum was getting them on the NHS as a teenager, whereas oval shapes suit my face :( Choice was all too limited :|

Came back via practically all the bed shops in Wincheap. We have decided to buy a new shiny bed and mattress to last a long time soon and now we have an idea what we want. I'm looking forward to going back in a couple of months and making the purchase :D

Finally we went to Sainsbars and got lunch for tomorrow and popcorn for tonight. Looking forward to Eurovision. Should be funny if nothing else :D

Sorry for the legnth - as the title says, it's been a very busy week!

A busy week

Saturday, May 12th, 2007 04:36 pm
lizziec: (granny's garden bee)
It's been an eventful week really.

On Tuesday my P60 arrived and I found I paid too much tax last year \o/ I called the tax office and they say it should be pretty straight forward to sort out once I send them my pay documents. Only problem is my records are in Yorkshire (!) from when I worked through Crown Personnel in 2005. Apparently Crown do their financial stuff through Yorkshire and so my records are there, despite me never having lived there! I'm also a little concerned that I've been working for the University for 8 months now and the last place they have me down as employed was for Crown. Ah well...once my records are in the right place I can send in my documents and get a refund :D

On Friday night Ben and I drove to Mitcham fix my Aunt's computer problem, which was very easily solved and had chinese when we got home. Yummy :)

Today we have been scarily productive. Went to Ashford (which appears to be in the process of being completely dug up) and had my eyes tested.

The results of the eye test were pretty good really, my eyes are settling down. The myopia got slightly worse in my right eye, but my astigmatism has improved and my left eye is unchanged :) Apparently my eyes are also very healthy :D

The results from my last test in January 2005 were:
Right Eye
sph: -1.75
cyl: -1.25
axis: 17

Left Eye
sph: -2.50
cyl: -1.75
axis: 4

This time:
Right Eye
sph: -2.00
cyl: -1.00
axis: 20

Left Eye
sph: -2.50
cyl: -1.50
axis: 2.5

Originally we went to Ashford because VisionExpress in Ashford (but not Canterbury) had a 2 for £99 offer on and I wanted a pair of Sunglasses as well as normal glasses. Unfortunately the glasses in the offer were all either rubbish (so wouldn't last two years) or didn't suit me (lots of angular frames which don't suit my face :() so we went round practically every optician in Ashford to find some that suited me and we could afford. We encountered stellar performances and incompetence (in one - Batemans - there were two receptionists, both of whom asked if they could help me and neither of whom could tell me how much an anti-reflective scratch resistant coating was *sigh*.

Ended up buying two pairs from SpecSavers (absolutely no love to the specsavers assistant who explained to me that 2.5 was "two and a half in English" - I know I'm bad at maths but I'm not that bad) on their BOGOF on designer pairs which I go to collect next Saturday :) The cost of glasses and eyetests scares me ;) Hope I like them when they're done. I encountered the same problem practically everywhere - the fashion at the moment appears to be for squareish/rectangular glasses or plastic ones with wings which I'm sure wouldn't have been out of place when my mum was getting them on the NHS as a teenager, whereas oval shapes suit my face :( Choice was all too limited :|

Came back via practically all the bed shops in Wincheap. We have decided to buy a new shiny bed and mattress to last a long time soon and now we have an idea what we want. I'm looking forward to going back in a couple of months and making the purchase :D

Finally we went to Sainsbars and got lunch for tomorrow and popcorn for tonight. Looking forward to Eurovision. Should be funny if nothing else :D

Sorry for the legnth - as the title says, it's been a very busy week!
lizziec: (Default)
My lies meme is here and the answers will be LJ cut in case anyone else wants to answer. The people with the correct answers were [livejournal.com profile] red_pill, [livejournal.com profile] benc and [livejournal.com profile] rahslowe. Only rah and Pill got it right first time though ;)

answers )

I think mine were too easy :(

In other news Paul Mutton is on /. again for his article on how 99.9% of the chatter on the top 60 irc channels is about illegal activity and I have an essay to write :(

I also have new glasses but noone has noticed ;) Must be cos they suit me or something. One day I'll wear glasses that don't suit me and shock you all! ;)

Blaaaaaaaaaaaaah
lizziec: (Default)
My lies meme is here and the answers will be LJ cut in case anyone else wants to answer. The people with the correct answers were [livejournal.com profile] red_pill, [livejournal.com profile] benc and [livejournal.com profile] rahslowe. Only rah and Pill got it right first time though ;)

answers )

I think mine were too easy :(

In other news Paul Mutton is on /. again for his article on how 99.9% of the chatter on the top 60 irc channels is about illegal activity and I have an essay to write :(

I also have new glasses but noone has noticed ;) Must be cos they suit me or something. One day I'll wear glasses that don't suit me and shock you all! ;)

Blaaaaaaaaaaaaah

Mwhahahahaha

Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 11:31 am
lizziec: (Default)
Today I have achieved the dream of every myopic...

My eyes have started to get better :D

My last eyetest brought up the following results:

Right Eye

sph: -2.25
cyl: -1.25
axis: 15

Left Eye

sph: -3.00
cyl: -1.50
axis: 180

This eyetest the results were:

Right Eye

sph: -1.75
cyl: -1.25
axis: 17

Left Eye

sph: -2.50
cyl: -1.75
axis: 4

My astigmatism in my right eye got slightly worse though :( But overall I've improved :D Which is why I've been having headaches in the evening cos according to the optician when my eyes get tired they're less able to compensate for the over correction.

So when my loan is through it's new glasses for me... :)

In other news I have a new LJ icon - this pic :)

Oh.. and it's my other half's ([livejournal.com profile] benc) birthday today.

Happy Birthday Ben! :)



That is all :)

Mwhahahahaha

Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 11:31 am
lizziec: (Default)
Today I have achieved the dream of every myopic...

My eyes have started to get better :D

My last eyetest brought up the following results:

Right Eye

sph: -2.25
cyl: -1.25
axis: 15

Left Eye

sph: -3.00
cyl: -1.50
axis: 180

This eyetest the results were:

Right Eye

sph: -1.75
cyl: -1.25
axis: 17

Left Eye

sph: -2.50
cyl: -1.75
axis: 4

My astigmatism in my right eye got slightly worse though :( But overall I've improved :D Which is why I've been having headaches in the evening cos according to the optician when my eyes get tired they're less able to compensate for the over correction.

So when my loan is through it's new glasses for me... :)

In other news I have a new LJ icon - this pic :)

Oh.. and it's my other half's ([livejournal.com profile] benc) birthday today.

Happy Birthday Ben! :)



That is all :)
lizziec: (Default)
I was in the shower this morning, shaving my armpits (TMI? ;)) when I started thinking about how much my razor had cost. It was a new razor, brought last night cos I couldn't be bothered to immac them (far too much like hard work). It cost me £5.49. I also looked at new blades while I was there. A pack of 5 for £5.11. With a new razor, I thought, you get 4 new blades plus a shiny new razor, so what is the point of paying 30p or so less for just the blades? Why?! Why aaare ladies blades so much more expensive than mens? For that matter, I thought, starting on another area of my rant, why do I have to pay a company that already has more than enough money for the priviledge of not bleeding everywhere once a month in a biological process I have no choice about? Grrrrr.

Another tenet to this is about glasses companies taking advantage of my short sight to charge me £50 for a pair of prescription sunglasses when if I had normal sight I could just pay a fiver in boots or tesco.

It's not fair >.<

Sometimes I feel so taken advantage of :(

Here endeth the rant of non-cohesiveness. Hopefully at least the ladies who read this will know what I'm on about ;)

P.S. Happy birfday tiggsiwooooosle :)
lizziec: (Default)
I was in the shower this morning, shaving my armpits (TMI? ;)) when I started thinking about how much my razor had cost. It was a new razor, brought last night cos I couldn't be bothered to immac them (far too much like hard work). It cost me £5.49. I also looked at new blades while I was there. A pack of 5 for £5.11. With a new razor, I thought, you get 4 new blades plus a shiny new razor, so what is the point of paying 30p or so less for just the blades? Why?! Why aaare ladies blades so much more expensive than mens? For that matter, I thought, starting on another area of my rant, why do I have to pay a company that already has more than enough money for the priviledge of not bleeding everywhere once a month in a biological process I have no choice about? Grrrrr.

Another tenet to this is about glasses companies taking advantage of my short sight to charge me £50 for a pair of prescription sunglasses when if I had normal sight I could just pay a fiver in boots or tesco.

It's not fair >.<

Sometimes I feel so taken advantage of :(

Here endeth the rant of non-cohesiveness. Hopefully at least the ladies who read this will know what I'm on about ;)

P.S. Happy birfday tiggsiwooooosle :)

January 2020

M T W T F S S
   12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Friday, March 27th, 2026 11:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios