lizziec: (sheep baa)
Toddled off to Mayday earlier to get the MRI done. I drove as carefully as I could, possibly my best and smoothest driving for ever as mum was feeling extremely nauseous and I really didn't want her being sick on the way (though we have an emesis basin in the car permanently atm just in case) as that would have been distressing for us both and we didn't need that. I (and she) made it \o/ Trying to drive smoothly makes it clear how awful the roads are at the moment though :(

Anyway, the MRI suite at Mayday smelled of paint and white spirit and was incredibly disorganised, with no signs telling us where it was. It turns out that the reason why is because they're still decorating, having moved in (from a portacabin on the hospital site somewhere) either Tuesday or today (Wednesday). After signing in and doing paperwork we waited for 50 mins, then I asked a member of staff who was passing how much longer it was likely to be. I was very polite and not mean or anything. Mostly I was just worried about whether or not I'd have to put more money on the car parking. Anyway, after asking someone mum was taken back for the MRI almost straight away. From them taking her back to her returning to me took about 55 mins. Got back to the car the minute the ticket expired. Not bad timing really. The MRI people said that they would have to write a report and would then ask mum to come back for more imaging (which I guess means another MRI or CT or something?) or she'd be called in to see her consultant. Now I guess we have to wait to see what the MRI shows. After the first CT scan mum was called back within 2 working days when it showed up a tumour, so hopefully the turnaround on the MRI will be as quick and we will find out where the primary tumour is hiding. If they can't pinpoint it using the MRI, they'll be biopsying the tumour on and behind her cheekbone. Ah, now I'm repeating myself. My apologies. The MRI today was of her head and neck.

Meanwhile, as well as the nausea and vomiting problems that I talked about last post, and the loss of appetite, the tumour appears to be causing various other distressing problems. One of the main ones is making mum vulnerable to infections - she's being treated for her second UTI in four weeks at the moment, which makes me nervous when I get a sore throat or anything. If it's a cold and I pass it along to her, I have no idea what the consequences would be. Another is nosebleeds. I guess it's the way the tumour is pressing on stuff, though I don't really know. She's had a few enormous nose bleeds that have lasted for ages (though [thankfully?] I've yet to be around for one), and on friday night she asked Phil to call an ambulance for her because the loss of blood was so sudden and dramatic (she thought it had stopped and it suddenly started again with a vengeance). Thankfully they were able to treat her at home, but it's another of those things that makes me realise how vulnerable the tumour(s) are making her, and not just in the obvious "she has cancer" sort of ways.

Cut, a ramble in which I moan about trying to get a prescription filled at half past six on a weekday in Greater London )

Since the first UTI she's been drinking a glass of cranberry juice a day. Is there anything else we can do to ward off the dreaded cystitis or is that about it? Also, is reduced sugar cranberry juice less effective or the same effective as regular when it comes to warding infections off? Does cranberry juice even work? Obviously for the comfort of everyone concerned we'd like to keep them to a minimum, hence the cranberry juice. It doesn't seem to have worked that well though :/

After my last LJ entry, [livejournal.com profile] red_pill sweetly said he'd deal with vomit as he has no particular problem with it, which is very sweet of him. I think we've decided that if he is around, he will deal with it, and if I'm the only one around then I'll grit my teeth and deal with it as best I can. Hopefully I will continue to be successful in keeping my own tummy contents in.

I should go to bed. It's very late as I've been writing this (and spent two hours bitching on twitter about the inadequacies of our legislative process with regards to the Digital Economy Bill) and [livejournal.com profile] bethanthepurple is visiting tomorrow (at least, as long as the hospital don't call us in on short notice), so I'd like to at least be a little alert for that ;)

ETA: 12/07/11 No longer filtered
lizziec: (NCIS gibbs abby protection)
Thanks to those who expressed their opinion earlier :) I'm beginning to feel a bit better about it, not quite so mortified.

I've decided to go see St Trinian's at Ashford on Tuesday, the 13:50 showing. As it's a tuesday, tickets are £4.40 each. As I'm going, I'm happy to take any Canterbunnies who are free then and want to go to a value of 3 or 4 if you want to squish together ;) Just comment below. I'll probably be leaving at 13:15.

Tonight I'm off to see Sweeney Todd. Hurrah. I declare this Cinema Week!
lizziec: (npower - cute)
Last night I saw the most recent Wulffmorgenthaler and it amused me. As it was related to women's health somewhat and I found it amsuing I posted it to [livejournal.com profile] vaginapagina here late last night and went off to bed. I woke up this morning to a whole bunch of comments (how I read them) basically attacking me for posting something racist and being priviledged because I didn't notice any racial undertones. Now I feel awful. I didn't even notice that the female character was coloured in any way. Does this make me racist or something in some way?

Advice/thoughts? As I said, I feel really awful and I'm looking for some reassurance or something. I'm starting to wonder if I'm missing a huge sensitive part of my brain... :/

(If you've already replied on IRC, don't feel you have to reply again ;))
lizziec: (Stargate SG1 Jack O'Neill (two l's ;)))
One of my Christmas presents is a Blockbuster movie rental account thingy. I'm looking for stuff to add to my rent list, so I am calling upon you, my friends list, for your collective knowledge and opinions :)

If you could share with me your recommendations for stuff to add - I'm open to trying most genres and stuff :) Let me know what your favourites are (and maybe why?) or any you have seen recently that you really enjoyed and would recommend, or a film that is to you like a comfort blanket to go back to again and again or whatever :)

Tomorrow I am off to town to finish my Christmas shopping and meet [livejournal.com profile] greenfurrymoose. Should be nice :)
lizziec: (Stargate SG1 Jack O'Neill (two l's ;)))
One of my Christmas presents is a Blockbuster movie rental account thingy. I'm looking for stuff to add to my rent list, so I am calling upon you, my friends list, for your collective knowledge and opinions :)

If you could share with me your recommendations for stuff to add - I'm open to trying most genres and stuff :) Let me know what your favourites are (and maybe why?) or any you have seen recently that you really enjoyed and would recommend, or a film that is to you like a comfort blanket to go back to again and again or whatever :)

Tomorrow I am off to town to finish my Christmas shopping and meet [livejournal.com profile] greenfurrymoose. Should be nice :)

January 2020

M T W T F S S
   12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Friday, March 27th, 2026 01:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios