My mum (typo/Christine)

Saturday, May 1st, 2010 01:45 am
lizziec: (animals - giraffe hug)
Most of you know mum has been diagnosed with a large cancerous tumour in her nasal cavity, stretching back a long way, wrapping itself around mum's carotid artery and causing a number of highly unpleasant symptoms, all of which led mum to be admitted to hospital yesterday, somewhat unexpectedly.

When we went to visit mum it was clear she was much worse than she was yesterday - hooked up to a heart monitor, nasal oxygen and several different lines and things going in to her - also looking weaker than yesterday and much sleepier.

Long story short, when the doctor saw me and Phil she said there was a good chance that mum won't live through the weekend, and in the end, after a good deal of discussion, we agreed to a DNR (Do Not Resuscitate) order.

While we discussed all of that, my bag was stolen from next to mum's bed, where I'd stupidly left it when the dr came to talk to us, which meant I spent an hour or so that I could have spent with mum searching for my bag, reporting the theft and cancelling my cards. That was an hour I couldn't spend with my critically ill mum, and if she dies tonight I really don't know how I could ever forgive the person who took it.

We've spoken to mum. She knows about and agrees with our decision. She wasn't upset or surprised, at least, not that we could see. We said all we wanted and needed to to her, and she said what she wanted and needed to, to us. From that point of view we are incredibly lucky, but it was one of the hardest things I've done in my life. She said she didn't want us to stay, and so we came home, but I can't sleep right now.
lizziec: (me - mummy and little lizzie)
Ben and I spent some time today sorting out some flowers and a balloon for mum's cubicle at the hospital, to make it a little more bright, having first checked that the ward allows flowers. We ended up getting a beautiful box of flowers from Mad Lillies in Banstead, which is where we got our wedding flowers from. That done, and with Phil back from work, we all headed up to Tooting to visit mum, getting to the hospital at about 5:15pm.

It was immediately clear that mum was worse than yesterday. They had her hooked up to a heart monitor, nasal oxygen on her and several different lines and things going in to her. She looked much weaker than yesterday, much sleepier, and she was having more nasty puss-y discharge from her nose than yesterday. Ben said hi and then went down to the cafe for a coffee - St Georges helpfully has an M&S food hall and cafe, which is a real bonus and all round fabulous idea - and Phil and I dumped our bags at the end of the bed, and then went through mum's post with her and read to her from BBC History magazine, which was all I had on me.

After a bit, one of the doctors came over and wanted to speak with me and Phil, so we dropped everything and went with her to a private room. A nurse got me a hot drink and really I should have known. That is never ever a good sign.

What the doctor had to say was incredibly hard for Phil and I to hear. What she wanted to do was tell us where we were up to today, and discuss with us a Do Not Resuscitate order.

She explained to us that while mum's blood sugar was much better (down to 11), she was much much worse than she had been 24 hours earlier. Mum's heart is getting very weak and mum herself is very tired. And she didn't mean that in a "she'll sleep and wake up refreshed" way, but in a "probably wanting to die" sort of way. And mum herself said later that she was very tired. Mum's resting heart rate is between 130 and 170bpm and the doctor thought it quite likely that at some point over the weekend it would stop. She also said that mum was in a lot of pain, and had been put on a morphine infusion earlier in the day to deal with the pain (previously she was on 30mg Codeine).

The hardest bit to hear was that she didn't think that mum's quality of life would get any better, even if the tumour does shrink a little bit (and the likelihood is that even if they can pull her through this, she will probably not be fit enough for radiotherapy), and she will continue to be in a lot of pain. She said that the consultants - Mr Mady, Mr Williamson and another (Mr Lee?) had met, and felt that the best and kindest thing would be not to resuscitate mum if her heart did stop. Phil and I were left to talk, and we called mum's brother and my aunt (dad's sister) and we all agreed that a DNR was the kindest thing that we could do. We (me and Phil) felt, and still feel, that to bring her back for more pain and suffering and poor quality of life is really just selfishness on our part. So we told the staff that we didn't want them to try and bring her back if her heart or breathing stop.

About 45 mins after the doctor had taken Phil and I aside, and when I finally could think about anything again, I found that my bag, that I'd stupidly dropped at the end of mum's bed earlier had gone missing. Phil's was still there. We searched the ward for it, and couldn't find it. The nursing staff were horrified and reported it to security, and I spent the next hour searching for my bag, reporting the theft and cancelling my cards. In the morning I need to call the DVLA.

There was nothing especially of value in there - just my notebooks (which I'm sad, especially as there were some untyped up stories) to lose) and my backpack (which I'm very sad to lose, especially given it had lots of keyrings I'd collected and things on it which made it an individual thing), and my purse, which had next to no actual money in it, just awkward things like cards and my driving licence in it. But the hour I spent having to report the loss and cancel the cards was an hour I couldn't spend with my critically ill mum, and if she dies tonight I really don't know how I could ever forgive the person who took it.

Mum's partner dropped by during the evening and we told him too. He was very emotional and gave back his key as he left. It was all pretty awful.

We ended up staying past the end of visiting hours, and the staff were very accommodating and left us be. We ended up telling mum and though she hadn't been spoken to explicitly (that she can remember, she's spent most of today pretty much asleep) she didn't seem at all surprised, or even terribly upset. We said that the DNR is ultimately her decision, as despite the sleepiness, her mind is still sharp. She said she agreed with our decision.

We told her how much we love her, and how proud we are of her, and how brilliant she's been and kissed her a lot. She said how much she loves us. We asked if she wanted us to stay and she said no.

So we came home. Via my aunties, who made us drinks and listened to us go through it logically. Ben drove home, which is good because I'm not sure I was capable.

Writing it all out now, it probably sounds a good deal more calm than it was. It involved much more intermittent crying from everyone (except mum) than I state here. Now I'm rather calmer. Still fairly near tears but oddly numb.

Today was awful. Really awful. Really really awful. And there's only a slim chance it will get better soon. Thank you to everyone who has sent thoughts and prayers. They're helping keep me afloat right now. More of the same please.

ETA: 12/07/11 No longer filtered
lizziec: (Stargate SG1 Sam Carter)
I should be doing paperwork right now, but I'm not cos I only just got back from dropping Phil at the bus station for the 8pm coach.

Why did it take me so long to get back from a 5-10 min run?

Well... (and for more information on this see [livejournal.com profile] benc's far more detailed LJ entry on it here)

We were walking back from the bus station to Watling Street Car Park (that's the one next to Whitefriars ;)) to the car when I noticed a man and a woman having an argument...when I next turned around he was pushing her over fairly violently. Then he got into the car and started to reverse from the parking space. She started to scream for help and she was clawing at his door trying to open it. The next thing I knew the screaming had stopped, she was on the floor and the man had stopped his car next to ours asking if we'd seen what had happened and would we stay around for the police so we could verify his story...

We went over to where she was lying and she seemed proper out of it. He kept telling us how she was really drunk and they'd been thrown out of Cafe Rouge and she got violent when she was drunk. Apparently she'd been trying to vandalise his car - they were partners apparently. She was lying on her back but we didn't know how she had got there. She was breathing so we left her like that and I covered her up with my coat while another bystander called for an ambulance. She's still unconcious and the man keeps asking her if she wants to go home. The witnesses (including ben and I) kept saying as she was unconcious she shouldn't be moved. I don't know about anyone else but part of my motivation in saying that was so she didn't go anywhere with him. He came across as a right sleaze. Yes, she was definately pissed - you could smell it, but she was unconcious and he didn't make any move to cover her up, check she was breathing or call for an ambulance. If you care about someone enough to date them and live with them why would you just not react at all when they are seemingly hurt?

Eventually the ambulance turned up and they got her up, awake and into the ambulance. When they woke her up she seemed really disorentated and whispered some stuff that ben could hear - her neck hurt, she wanted help, call the police. Then she came to herself a bit more and screamed for the police, that he was known to the police, he'd done this before. Once she was in the ambulance he took our names and drove off - didn't even ask about her...

We got the number plate - the police took it when they arrived and put out a call for it. Hopefully they'll find he's been drinking and he'll get done for drink driving (sorry - I really didn't like the guy). The police took our details and will get in touch if they need to.

So she is an apparently violent drunk, he's a scumbag who wants to move someone who possibly has head and neck injuries and who he was happy to drive away from earlier. Seems almost like they deserve one another. I dunno :|

I feel really shaken by it. Of all the witnesses I was the one who saw the most and I saw him push her over and I didn't do anything. I remember thinking conciously "What if he's got a weapon or something. I should stay out of it. I don't want to get hurt" I just stood and watched and it wasn't until she went down and stopped screaming and he stopped his car I went to do something.

When you hear about those people who have walked past when there has been an assault going on I keep thinking "I wouldn't do that". Faced with that situation I'm not convinced. I feel really bad about myself right now. I'm worried I would just walk by.

I don't want to be that person, I just got so scared.

Telehouse

Saturday, November 12th, 2005 06:01 pm
lizziec: (XKCD drunk)
I am at telehouse this weekend for a whole weekend and I must admit, it started rather badly.

Rant about disorganisation )

Which is why I was very glad when Philip offered to buy me lunch. He came on the DLR from Greenwich and we went back to Greenwich for a 'spoons, then back to his room where I fixed his HTML a bit :) After that we wandered back to East India Dock where I am based atm because we thought the DLR route was silly. Well, it is silly, but I admit, it's quicker than walking and certainly quicker than walking the route that Phil and I did. It was, however, a lovely walk with excellent company, and a really nice time was had by all. Except for: Rant about the little shit in Greenwich )

Anyway, I had a lovely time with Philip and am thinking about accompanying him to the Cenotaph tomorrow. Depends if I can be arsed or not ;)

At the moment I'm back in Telehouse watching the battle of Britain on my lappy (already watched The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp and Apollo 13 (thanks [livejournal.com profile] no1typo and [livejournal.com profile] manyfacesofjase respectively) but I suspect that by tomorrow I will have watched all the DVDs I brought with me. Sucks. Feel all warm and glowy from my walk across Docklands. Yay!

ANyway, off for some more tasteless food now. BBiab to update my OtherJournal(tm) with my teacher training doings ;)

January 2020

M T W T F S S
   12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Friday, March 27th, 2026 02:48 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios